13. Master Your Emotions.

  • Weak is he who permits

his thoughts to control his actions;

strong is he who forces

his actions to control his thoughts.

____________

If I feel depressed … I will sing.

If I feel sad … I will laugh.

If I feel ill … I will double my labour.

If I feel fear … I will plunge ahead.

If I feel inferior … I will wear new garments.

If I feel uncertain … I will raise my voice.

If I feel poverty … I will think of wealth to come.

If I feel incompetent … I will remember past success.

If I feel insignificant … I will remember my goals.

Today I will be the master of my emotions.

____________

On the night that Martin Luther King was killed, Robert Kennedy gave perhaps the most moving speech of his career when he announced the murder to a crowd in the ghetto of Indianapolis. In it, he quoted a passage from Aeschylus that I cling to in dark times:

“In our sleep pain which cannot forget falls drop by drop upon the heart until, in our own despair, against our will come wisdom through the awful grace of God.”

Somehow even when things are at their hardest, we must retain our faith in that “awful grace of God.”

–           Daily Reflection, September 30th, 2008

This entry was posted in effectiveness, rules and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

