Self-Assessment Checklist for Children

I am not sure that kids are ready to complete checklists that assess how well they are doing to improve their relationships with their parents. At any rate, Sura Hart & Victoria Kindle Hodson in Respectful Parents Respectful Kids, PuddleDancer Press, Encinitas, CA, 2006 have provide the following self-assessment for children.

Self-Assessment for Children
Circle the number that shows how satisfied you are with meeting your needs. “5” means that you are most satisfied; “1” show that you are not satisfied.

My Relationships with Myself

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I eat healthy foods.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I get rest.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I get exercise.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I have fun.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I know how to calm myself when I get angry or upset.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I have fun creating.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I know why I do things.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I enjoy learning.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I have friends.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I like myself.

My Relationships with My Parents

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I feel safe.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I know they care about me.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I tell them what I feel & need.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I hear what they feel & need.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I ask for what I would want without making demands.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     They ask for what they want without making demands.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     We have fun together.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     We make decisions together.

My Relationships with My Brothers & Sisters

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I feel safe.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     We care about each other.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     We know how to work things out together.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I express my feelings & needs & what I want.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     I hear their feelings & needs & what they I want.

1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5     We have fun together.

This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

