Stage 4: Preferring and Deciding

“I can’t tell you how much time is spent worrying about decisions that don’t matter. To just be able to make a decision and see what happens is tremendously empowering, but that means you have to set up the situation such that when something does go wrong, you can fix it.”
~Ward Cunningham, American computer programmer, developed the first “wiki” (May 26, 1949 – )

We are in Stage 4, Preferring and Deciding. The assumptions are that:

Problem solving is done.
Acceptable realistic solutions have been identified.
You are aware of the costs of worrying.
You are in touch with your “gut feelings“ and know how to use your mind, brain, and logic as well.

To determine the best solutions three major questions, which lead to several supporting questions, must be answered:

How do these alternatives fit in with my goals?
What does this change accomplish?
Does it support my purpose in life?
Is it important enough to worry about? Life is too short to waste my time and resources.
Is it in line with my priorities?

“Worry ducks when purpose flies overhead.”
~Terri Guillemets, American quotation anthologist, creator of “The Quote Garden” (1973 – )

What do I have to do to get it done?
What other changes are implied?
What obstacles must be overcome?

Am I willing to do it?
How does this new understanding fit in with my values, principles, and rules for living effectively? I hold on to what resonates with me as being right and true and therefore worth considering as an addition or modification to my lifestyle. I ignore the rest.

What is the impact on my lifestyle? Lifestyle has been defined as the “spokes in my wheel of life” in:

https://georgesecko.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/life-as-wheels-circles-pies-domains-and-spokes/

“I keep the telephone of my mind open to peace, harmony, health, love and abundance. Then, whenever doubt, anxiety or fear try to call me, they keep getting a busy signal – and soon they’ll forget my number.”
~Edith Armstrong

Am I willing to take the risks?
Am I ready to move out of my comfort zone and face the fear of the unknown?
Am I prepared to deal with the issues of control and trust?

As you honestly and realistically answer these questions, you will be well on the way to make decisions and take actions that will resolve your issues and avoid dangers.

“The most effective way to live is as a warrior. A warrior may worry and think before making any decision, but once he makes it, he goes his way, free from worries or thoughts; there will be a million other decisions still awaiting him. That’s the warrior’s way.”
~Carlos Castaneda, American anthropologist, author (Dec. 25, 1925 – Apr 27, 1998)

This entry was posted in worry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

