Today’s quote: accepting and appreciating others

Carl Rogers Quote

Carl Rogers Quote (Photo credit: Psychology Pictures)

“One of the most satisfying feelings I know … comes from my appreciating [an] individual in the same way that I appreciate a sunset. People are just as wonderful as sunsets if I can let them be. In fact, perhaps the reason we can truly appreciate a sunset is that we cannot control it. When I look at a sunset as I did the other evening, I don’t find myself saying, ’Soften the orange on the right hand corner, and put a bit more purple along the base, and use a little more pink in the cloud color.’ I don’t do that. I don’t try to control a sunset. I watch it with awe as it unfolds.”
~ Carl Rogers, A Way of Being, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, New York, 1995

May be especially relevant with children as a stepping stone to showing “unconditional love” for them; with adults, it may help to better understand others.

This entry was posted in quotation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

